If you don’t have your health…

You know the old saying “if you don’t have your health, you don’t have anything”? I think that may be true of the GIANTS. Oh sure, not everyone is on the DL, but since the guys play as a team, I think the health of one affects the mentality of the whole. And not even on a conscious level. I know the theory is far-reaching, but it’s my theory and I’m sticking to it. Have you ever tried to go more than a couple of days without rationalizing something? Hell no–we’re all human–we thrive on rationalization.

Last night’s game, at first blush, seemed to offer some promise. The San Diego pitcher who was scheduled to pitch last night’s game was placed on the DL before the game started. San Diego’s best option was to call up a minor leaguer who had never pitched in the Show. Not for nothing, but I thought it would be better to face the Rook who went 1-3 in 5 starts in AAA ball with a 7.61 ERA, than the guy who is considered to be the Padres ace. Boy was I wrong!

The game started with a pitching duel, both teams went scoreless for 3 solid innings. Then in the top of the 4th, with only 1 out, the Padres started swinging their bats and getting base hits. Except one. With 2 men on, the Padre at the plate went yard. Or so we thought. After a video review, the umpires ruled fan interference, changed it from a HR to a ground rule double and called 2 runs back. Bud Black–the Padres manager–went out to argue  with the ruling and got tossed. Immediately. Apparently the baseball gods didn’t like how it all went down because the next batter doubled on a line drive to left field and the 2 runs scored anyway. The Padres scored 3 more runs in the 8th. The GIANTS couldn’t get a read on the pitcher and didn’t score once. The final score was:

GIANTS 0, Padres 6

On the plus side, although he didn’t get any hits–but really, only a couple of GIANTS managed to get a hit–our new 2nd baseman looked good out there, fielding grounders and turning double plays like he’s been doing it for years. But, then again, I guess he has–just not at AT&T Park.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s